Sticking Out My Thumb

There’s a first time for everything! Yesterday, for example, was my first time hitchhiking.

I was on my way to work. My mode of transportation was my (usually very reliable) scooter. All of a sudden, said scooter didn’t want to be going 50 km/hr to go through town. Instead, it gradually got slower and slower… until it stopped altogether.

Awesome.

I tried to restart it. Nope.

My first thought was to call my boss. No answer. Boss’ spouse. No answer. Boss again. No answer.

Ok, so I needed a new plan. “Maybe I can take the bus,” I thought to myself… as the hourly bus whizzed by. So that was a no-go.

I needed a new plan again. “My husband has some family in the neighboring village, maybe they can drive me!” I called them. No answer. And still no answer from my boss.

At this point, I reevaluated my options:

  • Take the scooter. 
  • Have my boss pick me up.
  • Take the bus.
  • Have D’s family drive me.
  • Call TCS (Swiss version of AAA). I didn’t want to wait for them to come. So: Call TCS.
  • Walk. This would have made me about 2 hours late to work, and my boss still had no idea I was running late. So: Walk.
  • Stick out my thumb.

This really had become my only choice. FORTUNATELY, hitchhiking is common in Switzerland and is still considered safe (more on Swiss honesty in a future post). The person who picked me up was very friendly, and I made it to work, almost on time!

A good experience, but I’ll try not to make it a habit. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Sticking Out My Thumb

  1. As I’ve mentioned in my bucket list, I’ve always wanted to try hitchhiking… It’s good to know that you consider Switzerland to be a safe place to do it, I will have to remember this 🙂

  2. Oh wow, that’s pretty brave of you to go hitchhiking – not sure I would have been able to do that. I didn’t realise it was common anywhere these days, but it’s nice that you live somewhere that is so safe!

  3. Whew – my heart started pounding when I read your header. I wouldn’t dare do it here – i have an irrational fear of my car breaking down. So glad Switzerland is safe for that.

Leave a Reply

